By default, your blog is completely public, and can be read by anyone on the internet. However, if you want to keep it private, you can do that, too. The setting for this is on the Settings | Permissions tab.
Under the Blog Readers heading, you'll probably see "Anybody" selected as the default. When you change this to "Only readers I choose," you'll get an Add Readers button.
Click the Add Readers button and then enter the email address of a person to whom you want to grant access to your blog. To add multiple people, separate their addresses with commas.
For each address entered, the Google Account associated with that address will be given access to view your blog. If an address is not associated with an account, that person will be sent an invitation email with a link allowing them do one of three things:
- Sign in to an existing account.
- Create a new account.
- View your blog as a guest (no account required).
In the first two cases, the reader will be given permission to view your blog whenever they are logged in to their Google Account. As a guest, they'll be able to continue viewing your blog through the link in the invitation email, but this will expire after two weeks. After that, they'll need a new invitation.
If you want to revoke someone's access to your blog, simply click the remove link next to his or her name in the Blog Readers list. You can also toggle back to the "Anybody" option any time you decide to make the blog completely public again.
Note: If you publish your blog via FTP to your own server, the Blog Readers option will not be available. This is because Blogger has no control over who can access web pages on your server. However, you can contact your hosting provider to find out about any support they may offer for restricting access to your site.